I just finished Chapter 9!!  Chapter 8 kicked my butt up and down the block, but Ch 9 was a real load off.  I missed one day of practice on yesterday but I really needed the break.  Otherwise, I’ve been practicing for 3-4 hours a day and really focusing to get through theory.

I’m also constantly doing my research on what I need to do to reach my goals here.  Ultimately I would like to do CART or maybe even broadcast captioning, but I know it will take a lot of practice and some years to get my speeds to that level.  So I’m considering once I get my speeds up enough to where testing for my RPR is on the horizon, I will try to get a mentor in court reporting and start there.  At least that way I’ll be able to get into the industry, especially since the job I have now may not even exists in a few years.

In a way, I am really torn anyway… because I do love the legal system and fascinated by the process, it is entirely possible that I will end up enjoying that line of work and deciding to continue doing that.  At the same time, I love the aspect of providing a service to the deaf and hard of hearing with CART  and broadcast captioning, plus I feel theres a lot of flexibility and growth in that aspect of the business.  I’m so early in this that I have time to decide so I’m not stressing.  It anyway will not hurt me to start with court reporting and gain knowledge in legal / medical terminology..which will be good to know no matter which way I go. So I may as well!

